In an ever changing world of technology and how we live, privacy and security are important to everyone. World To Build is committed to our player’s right to privacy and their safety and security, which is why we are continuing to add features to protect you and your player account every day. Our players are important to us, and we owe it to them to ensure that they are protected and have control over certain information that is displayed about them.
You may have noticed some new additions to your account settings over the last few weeks, but we wanted to outline a blog post to officially inform you about some key features we have added that can benefit you and your account. We apologize in advance for the lengthy blog post, but we wanted to keep you up-to-date with all of the awesome features we are shipping out to you.
Email verification allows an email address added to your account to be verified. Once your email is verified, it tells us that the email address on your account actually belongs to you and unlocks additional features on World To Build not otherwise available to unverified players.
Some important information about verifying your email:
- Only one email address is allowed to be verified to a player account at a time. This means that if you have verified your email address on your account, it cannot be added to an existing account or signed up with a new player account.
- If you decide to change your email address, your current email address will be unverified and you will be required to verify your new email.
- You may remove an email from an existing account and use it on another account so long as it is not verified. However, any time your email is changed, we maintain a record of what email addresses are attached to each player account for security reasons.
To verify your email address, simply navigate to your account settings and click the verification button next to your account email. We will send you an email address with verification instructions. It’s that easy!
Pin-based security is a recent addition to the World To Build platform and provides an extra layer of security pertaining to your account settings on Worldtobuild.com. Players may attach a 4-8 digit pin code to their player account in their account settings that restrict access to those account settings without first entering the code.
Some key notes about pin-based security:
- Your security pin code is not accessible by anyone, including World To Build staff. Your pin code is stored encrypted and securely.
- Your security pin code may be removed at any time by accessing your account settings, but you will first need to verify your pin code.
- Once you access your account settings with your security pin code, the session will automatically expire after 15 minutes and you will be required to re-enter the pin code again.
- If you decide to leave your account settings before the session expires and would like to delete your session, you may do so by clicking the door icon next to the session expiration time.
- Your session is unique to your computer, so other players who may obtain access to your account will not be able to access your account settings if you choose to keep it active.
Why should I enable pin-based security?
Players are always encouraged to go the extra mile to ensure their accounts are as secure as they can be. While we recommend strong passwords and attempt to encourage players to use unique passwords, often times this is not the case and tends to lead to account theft or intentional destruction of a player’s account.
With pin-based security, player settings (such as changing your password, viewing membership information, updating your email, or changing your username and description) are limited without a pin-code and help provide you assurance that your account will be safe.
What other kind of security does pin-based security provide?
At this time, the only security that your pin code provides are limitations on access to your account settings. However, in the future, we plan to add additional features that require pin-codes to better strengthen what happens on your account. Such features include, but are not limited to:
- Editing clothing items
- Deleting items from your backpack
- Logging in
- Selling items on the player market
- Creating trade requests on the currency conversion system
- Purchasing items from the official shop or other players
If you have additional suggestions on what you would like to see pin-based security for, please tell us your awesome ideas on our suggestion forum.
It may seem overrated, but privacy is a very serious thing today. Over the years, our lives have become more and more transparent and available to the public. Information we want to remain private often becomes public, and little can be done to remove that information from online sources.
Our goal at World To Build is to give players the tools they need to control what is available to the public, friends, or anyone that browses our website. We have created some privacy settings that are located in a player’s account settings which provide players the ability to hide certain information from certain people at any given time. These features include:
Who can send me messages?
This setting allows players to choose who can send them personal messages. Players can choose between the following people to send them messages: Everyone, Friends Only, or No One
Who can view my user profile?
This setting allows players to choose who can view their player profile. Players can choose between the following people to view their profile: Everyone, Friends Only, or No One
Who can send me friend requests?
This setting allows players to choose who can send them friend requests. Players can choose between the following people to send them friend requests: Everyone or No One
Who can view my inventory?
This setting allows players to choose who can view their inventory (or backpack). Players can choose between the following people to view their inventory (or backpack): Everyone, Friends Only, or No One
Who can view my friends list?
This setting allows players to choose who can view their friends list. Players can choose between the following people to view their friends list: Everyone, Friends Only, or No One
Who can view what game I am playing?
This setting allows players to choose who can view what game a player is playing. Players can choose between the following people to view what game they are playing: Everyone, Friends Only, or No One
Your privacy and security are important to us, and we want to create features that protect you, your account, and your privacy. We hope that these new features will help us in that effort.
We are an ever-changing company that seeks our community’s ideas and support. If you would like to see additional features or have ideas on how to improve our features, please let us know what your awesome ideas are. Your feedback is so important to us and we look forward to what you have to share.